Ekurhuleni Golf Union in partnership with EGU golf clubs will be starting a new Senior Golf Series comprising 5 tournaments at 5 different Ekurhuleni Golf Courses. The old format of Senior Socials is thus discontinued.

Eligibility to these tournaments is for Full members and Pensioner members of a golf club affiliated to a Union recognised by the South African Golf Association. The minimum age is 50 years, however we do encourage 49 year old golfers to participate to feature on the order of merit, however they will not be eligible to win prizes.

The aim of these tournaments is to create an order of Merit for the B division and C Division senior golfers of the Union.  Our A division golfers have their order of merit to contest selection to represent the Union in the inter-provincial tournament.   The scores from these five fixtures feature in the existing order of merit.   This has left the B and C divisions unrecognised.

The tournaments will be played in three Divisions, A Division  - handicaps up to 9. B Division - handicaps from 10 to 16. C Division  - handicaps 17 and upward. The A and B division will contest in Strokeplay format and the C division will contest in individual stableford format. Three prizes will be awarded per division and the winner of each division will receive a small trophy. At the end of the series a floating trophy will be awarded to each division based on the average score across the series.   Eligibility will be based on a minimum of 4 of the 5 tournaments.

To ensure that the B and C division order of merit is worthy, Ekurhuleni will select teams based on this criteria to contest against our neighbouring unions.

All division winners will be honoured at the Presidents Dinner in November of each year. Due to the fact that we will only have 3 tournaments completed by November this year we will carry 2016 and 2017 series to the 2017 Presidents dinner.

The First tournament was played at ERPM on the 14th August we had a fantastic field of 72 and we hope to build this to larger fields. We played the ERPM Senior Open as 2 divisions only and with the positive feedback and comments received, we introduced the 3 divisions going forward, with different formats. This will mean that for the first series we will have 4 tournaments and we will use a minimum of 3 tournaments for the B Division Series.  The A Division and C Division are not affected and will remain as 4 of the 5 tournaments.

The running order of merit standings will be published at each tournament and we will post this onto the Ekurhuleni Golf Union website under the seniors section.

Entry forms will be published by the Ekurhuleni Golf Union and distributed via the Golf Clubs and the Website. We are in the process of securing golf clubs to participate in this series and once all of the golf clubs have been confirmed the fixture list will be distributed via the same channels.

The Ekurhuleni Golf Union in conjunction with the Golf Clubs will officiate at these tournaments and this will allow the branding to be “Golf Club Name” Senior Open sponsored by the Ekurhuleni Golf Union.

We trust that our Senior Golfers will support this initiative and grow the fields to make this attractive to golf clubs to host the senior open tournaments for the senior member that has been loyal and a contributing member to their golf clubs for a number of years.

Yours Sincerely

Ekurhuleni Senior Golf Sub Committee